Events & Paddle Assistant

Events

Friends of the Kaw likes to be as many places as posssible….but with just one full time staff member, that makes it difficult.  In order to spread our message as far and wide as possible along the 173 mile Kansas River corridor, it takes many volunteers!  Please check out all of the fun opportunities there are for you to help us spread our message!  Contact Dawn Buehler, Kansas Riverkeeper, at riverkeeper@kansasriver.org or call 785.312.7200 for more information or to volunteer at a specific event.

Saturday, April 1, 2017 – Johnson County Health Yards Expo at the Shawnee Civic Center from 9:00 am to 2:00 pm.    Volunteer to handle the FOK table setup and greet people.

Saturday, April 15, 2017 – Prairie Village Earth Fair, Shawnee Mission East High School from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm.  Volunteer to handle the FOK table setup and greet people.

Saturday, April 22, 2017 – Earth Day at the Topeka Zoo, Topeka Zoo from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm.  Volunteer to handle the FOK table setup and greet people.

Saturday, April 22, 2017 – Lawrence Earth Day, South Park from 11:30 am to 4:00 pm.  Volunteer to handle the FOK table setup and greet people.

Saturday, June 3, 2017 – Winesong at Riverfest from 3:00 pm to 7:00 pm.  Volunteers to help with the event!  Free admission and wine tasting – work a few hours, wine taste a few hours!

Saturday, September 30, 2017 – Great Kaw Adventure Race – all day event!  Volunteers needed to help with the event!

Paddle Assistant on the River

Come join FOK as a Paddle Assistant on our Group Educational Paddle Trips that run from mid-April through the end of October each year.  You must have your own kayak to participate as a volunteer for this program.

Saturday, March 11, 2017 – 2nd Annual Paddle Assistant Workshop from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm at the Eudora Park and Recreation Building in Eudora, KS.  If you have your own kayak and want to join us as a Paddle Assistant on our Kansas River Paddle Trips, then come learn about how you volunteer, what we do and meet the crew!

Sunday, April 30 – Douglas County Cleanup.  Lawrence to Eudora.  9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Saturday, May 6 – Free State High.  Lecompton to Lawrence.  9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Monday, May 8 – Outdoor’s Writers Conference.  Location TBD.  10:00 am to 3:00 pm

Sunday, June 4 – Lawrence Parks & Rec.  Lecompton to Lawrence.  1:00 pm to 5:00 pm

Saturday, June 17 – Douglas County Cleanup.  Lecompton to Lawrence.  9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Saturday, July 8 – KU Internationl Students.  Upper Wakarusa River.  9:00 am to 1:00 pm

Sunday, July 9 – Johnson County Cleanup.  DeSoto to Cedar Creek.  9:00 am to 1:00 pm

Saturday, July 15 – Little Apple Paddle.  Manhattan to St. George.  10:00 am to 3:00 pm

Sunday, August 6 – Topeka Zoo Students.  Upper Wakarusa.  9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Saturday, August 12 – Lexington Township.  DeSoto to Cedar Creek.  8:00 am to 12:00 pm

Saturday, August 19 – Douglas County Cleanup.  Lawrence to Eudora.  9:00 am to 3:00 pm

Saturday, September 23 – Douglas County Cleanup.  Lecompton to Lawrence.  9:00 am to 3:00 pm